Where have I been? What have I read? Part II!

My last post (Where have I been? What have I read?) apologised for a couple weeks of silence and promised regular posts in the future. Next thing you know, three months have passed. In other, happier news, I’ve finished my MA thesis – which also explains what I’ve been doing for the last three months.

I’ve also been doing some reading for fun, if not exactly a lot of it. But here are some highlights of my summer reading – in tiny, one-sentence reviews. (And this time I really do promise this signals a return to my old book-reviewing ways.)

The Fireman / Joe Hill
Deadly fungus infects the majority of the human race, resulting in spontaneous immolation in stressful situations; great premise but, unfortunately, terribly cliche execution.

Annihilation / Jeff VanderMeer
A mysterious and unearthly border appears, blocking off what becomes known as Area X; it defies scientific examination, and yet the novel follows scientists who are nevertheless driven to examine it.

The Plotline Bomber of Innisfree / Josh Massey
Life in near-future Canada paints a satirical and gripping portrait of what it means to live and create and make a living in the natural world – as well as the ways we protect and fail to protect the world around us.

Souvenir of Canada / Douglas Coupland
Coupland sets out to document what it means to be Canadian – setting out a series of objects and ideas that quintessentially sum up the nation; it’s nostalgic, quirky, and critical by turns, and is the closest thing the nation has to required reading.

Paper Girls /  Brian K. Vaughan
Aliens! Nostalgia! Art! Newspaper delivery! A band of intrepid paper delivery girls fight gender stereotypes and also some kind of alien invasion (?!) using their guts, determination, mom’s gun, and time travel (?!). In a word: amazing.

 

These are some of the highlights – and you can browse the rest of what I’ve read this summer on my Goodreads page.

How about you? What have you read in the last three months that you would recommend? I finally have free time again and I’m looking to build up that to-read pile – so suggest away!

 

2 thoughts on “Where have I been? What have I read? Part II!

  1. Congrats on finishing your MA thesis. That must be a big relief! Both Paper Girls and Souvenir of Canada sound like good fun to read. I recommend The Outside Circle by Patti Laboucane-Benson, which is a heartbreaking story about two Aboriginal brothers caught up in gang life. It’s a heavy read, but well-written.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts and opinions!

