Dedications: The Norwood Legions Big Rock Pipe Band

IMG-20141014-01095

‘TRADITIONS’
: The Norwood Legion’s
Big Rock Pipe Band 
Live at the 
Winspear Centre
(Edmonton 2001)

This follows in the line of dedications that aren’t truly dedications – but I’m at a loss for what to call them instead. Frontispiece marginalia?

I originally thought this one might be a note to self – that something in the text had reminded its owner of this pipe band and they thought the two ought to go together. I’ve done this before – and run across notes from my past self contrasting sections with parts of other novels. (This can either be really interesting or really useless; I generally find my notes to be really helpful or to border on nonsense. Adopt this approach at your own risk!)

And this still might be the case with this particular notation – but it’s also worth noting that this is actually  the title of a CD. I wonder if perhaps it was mentioned in the book, and the reader wanted to remember to look it up later? I guess that’s the nice thing about reading physical books – you might not always have scrap paper handy, but you’ll always have end pages.

Have you ever found notes from your past self, or from someone else? Did they make sense? Or maybe you like to keep your reading and your writing materials completely separate? Drop me a line in the comments and let me know what you think!

I collected dozens of these types of dedications (using the term loosely, with this one) when I worked at a used bookstore, and I still keep an eye out for them when I’m browsing second-hand books. Now you can find a new dedication here every Friday. See the complete list here!

Have any of your previously loved books come with notes from past owners? Send them my way!

Share your thoughts and opinions!

