Dedications: from the rest of the box office

IMG-20150113-01334

Happy Birthday Tracey
All the best from David 

Pamela and the rest of the box office

This is one of those dedications that manages to convey the framework* of a story in just a few words. I find myself with several questions: why do David and Pamela get mentioned by name, but the rest of the box office is relegated to an amorphous blob of personality? Or, since we appear to be missing a comma, is “David Pamela” all one name? I’ve seen stranger names.

And overall, while I don’t remember what book it was, I remember clearly that it wasn’t a play – which seems like an obvious choice for a box office gift. No?

I collected dozens of these types of dedications when I worked at a used bookstore, and I still keep an eye out for them when I’m browsing second-hand books. Now you can find a new dedication here every Friday. See the complete list here!

Have any of your previously loved books come with notes from past owners? Send them my way!

*I’m knee-deep in final papers, which means I’m knee-deep in theoretical texts, which means I’m knee-deep in words like “framework” and “agency” and “juxtaposition,” which are perfectly serviceable words that normal people simply don’t use in polite conversation, so I apologise for this.

Share your thoughts and opinions!

