Dedications: a gift from a fish

IMG-20150113-01331

To: Jared
Love from
Auntie Char
February 14, 1984

For the most part I skip documenting dedications that are just a to / from. But this one caught my eye for two reasons. First of all, February 14 is either Jared’s birthday (in which case he pulled the short end of the stick) or that he got a book for Valentine’s day (which is pretty great).

But honestly I just like this dedication because, at first, I misread “Auntie Char” as “Arctic Char” and I really like the idea of a fish giving a book as a present.

Which sort of ties into this picture I found of “Salmon Rushdie” on the internet.

salmon_rushdie_by_mouseshadow-d97xr3e

I’m just going to leave that there… I think I probably need more sleep. A shoutout to artist Justin Elliot Poole for creating this beautiful piece of art.

Anyway. Dedications. I collected dozens of dedications when I worked at a used bookstore, and I still keep an eye out for them when I’m browsing second-hand books. Now you can find a new dedication here every Friday. See the complete list here!

Have any of your previously loved books come with notes from past owners? Send them my way!

Share your thoughts and opinions!

