Dedications: Happy Christmas, 1901

KindestWishes_Bookrock.jpg

1901
Kindest wishes for a Happy Christmas.
From David W. White

I’m a little late on the Christmas train, but they sure don’t make handwriting like that any more.

Don’t get me wrong – I love ebooks, and you’ll have to pry my kindle out of my cold, dead hands. But there remains something intangible and intriguing in the sheer age – and history – of some books.

In any case, I’m a sucker for marginalia – I collected dozens of these types of dedications when I worked at a bookstore, and now you can find a new dedication here every Friday. Browse through them here!

Have any of your previously loved books come with notes from past owners? Send them my way!

Share your thoughts and opinions!

