Challenge accepted: a few goals for 2016

All in all, I had a pretty excellent 2015.

I always sign up for the Goodreads challenge and aim to read about 100 books a year – although I set the goal at 5000, because I find it stressful when Goodreads tells me how far behind I am.

Now that 2015 is officially over – bye, friend! – it’s time to celebrate a shiny new year with a new set of goals.

I’m starting off easy with only a few challenges – but I just might add to the list as the year progresses. For now it’s all about reasonable goals.

Which brings us to…

ReRead2016Graphic.png

The Re-Read Challenge

Hosted by Kelly at Belle of the Literati, this challenge is all about rediscovering some old favourites – or maybe books you didn’t quite appreciate the first time. I’m setting a goal of twelve books, because one a month seems pretty manageable.

A couple I hope to tackle:

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath
Girlfriend in a Coma by Douglas Coupland
The Wind-up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami
You by Austin Grossman

Update:

First pick: Girlfriend in a Coma by Douglas Coupland (full review here!)

2016classicschallenge1

The Classics Challenge

Hosted by Stacey at Pretty Books, this challenge is all about diving deep into the past to let old gems shine. (Is it cheating count The Bell Jar towards this challenge too? I’m going to pretend it isn’t.)

The definition of “classics” is pretty vague, but I’m going to count it as anything published at least 40 years ago. These books should also be easily recognisable, with some kind of critical acclaim surrounding them. That’s still not terribly narrow, but it will have to do.

Just like with the re-read challenge, I’m going to aim for twelve books – nice and manageable. I hope.

A few I hope to tackle:

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath (seriously, not cheating)
Surfacing by Margaret Atwood
Howl by Alan Ginsberg

Update:

First pick: Bear by Marian Engel (full review here!)

Are you tackling a few challenges this year? Link to them in the comments! Books of a feather flock together!

2 thoughts on “Challenge accepted: a few goals for 2016

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Shiny and new on the to-read pile | Bayrock, Bookrock

Share your thoughts and opinions!

