Cover to Cover with Vampires in the Lemon Grove

I’ve been meaning to talk about Karen Russell for a long while – I mention her briefly in my Top Ten Tuesday fairy tale picks, and there’s a review of her short story collections in the works (I swear!), but for now let’s look at some beautiful covers. Vampires in the Lemon Grove: Russell’s sophomore short story collection, rife with gripping characters and magic realism.

The title story is about a vampire who finds relief by sinking his teeth into lemons instead of people. It’s also, in a way, a story about the surprising joys and disappointments of life.

As you may imagine, the crossroads of vampires and lemons makes for interesting cover composition:

British edition     Hardcover edition     Vampires

The hardcover (middle) is probably my least favourite – a little lacklustre compared to the neat old vintage vibe exuded by the paperback editions.

The two translated editions I tracked down are, as per usual, quite different from the English edition:

Italian edition  Spanish edition

I’m a huge fan of the Spanish edition (right) and less a fan of the Italian edition (left) – it seems a little too blatantly Batman-esque for my taste.

My favourite edition is from Cardon Webb – the final version on the right, and one of the preliminary drafts on the left (which I think I actually like better).

Original trade paperback design by Cordon Webb   Trade paperback edition

Which cover is your favourite? Feel free to link to any great cover art that I’ve missed!

Cover to Cover is a weekly project comparing and critiquing the various covers of popular novels, published every Wednesday. Find more posts in this series here.

My pal and fellow book blogger Anthony Biondi has also started doing a weekly Cover to Cover post – check it out here!

One thought on “Cover to Cover with Vampires in the Lemon Grove

Share your thoughts and opinions!

