Top Ten Tuesday: the elusive releases of 2015

Narrow Top Ten Tuesday logo copy

It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday, hosted as ever by The Broke and the Bookish! This week is make-your-own-theme, so I took it as a chance to put together a list of 2015 books that I still haven’t managed to get my hands on – not including this fall’s  line-up of crazy excellent yet-to-be-released fiction. (Hint: that’s next week’s Top Ten Tuesday.)

Click on the cover image to pop over to the Goodreads page!

A god in ruins1. A God in Ruins by Kate Atkinson

In Atkinson’s Life After Life, wartime protagonist Ursula finds herself reborn again and again, in life after life – to repeat her mistakes or avoid them. (I’m not saying she kills Hitler, but I’m not not saying she kills Hitler.) A God in Ruins follows Ursula’s brother Teddy – an RAF pilot who finds himself lost in peacetime.

 

 

crooked2. Crooked by Austin Grossman

Grossman is one of the best, nerdiest authors of the era. In this new book (which I actually bought in August and haven’t had time to read yet) Grossman sets the Nixon administration in a Cthulhu universe. Classic.

 

The Beautiful Bureaucrat3. The Beautiful Bureaucrat by Helen Phillips

Josephine works in an unnamed office for an unnamed corporation. Days after days of inputting numbers into a computer take their toll. What’s the result? Poetry? Murder? Conspiracy? I can’t wait to find out.

 

 

Under Major Domo Minor4. Undermajordomo Minor by Patrick de Witt

After reading The Sisters Brothers (finally) this past summer, I’m ready to pick up anything Patrick de Witt puts to page. This new novel looks like it does for medieval fiction what Sisters Brothers did for Westerns.

 

 

Satin Island5. Satin Island by Tom McCarthy

The description for this novel sounds a lot like Jeff Van Der Meer’s Annihilation – following a scientist caught up in a research project that gets away from him. Will the official report read more like an existential crisis or psychotic break? Sources say yes.

 

H is for Hawk6. H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald

This is the only work of non-fiction on my list, but also a reminder that truth can be stranger than fiction. In the wake of her father’s death, Macdonald decides to train a goshawk – one of the fiercest and most vicious raptors, even for a trained falconer.

 

The Making of Zombie Wars7. The Making of Zombie Wars by Aleksandar Hemon

Josh is a screenwriter with more abandoned screenplays to his name than he’s comfortable admitting. And after a few weird life entanglements  the script for “Zombie Wars” starts making more sense than life does.

 

Boring Girls8. Boring Girls by Sara Taylor

Two girls form a metal band. Cue misogyny, ensuing violence, a spot of vengeance, possibly some homicide, and a whole lot of coming of age. CanLit? A “bloodstained journey into the dark heart of the music industry”? Yes, please. I’ll even have seconds.

 

A Robot in the Garden9. A Robot in the Garden by Deborah Install

I’ll be honest with you: I don’t remember what this one’s about – and I don’t want to ruin the surprise by looking it up. What I hope it’s about: a cybernetic version of The Secret Garden. What I think it’s actually about: steampunk England, possible a miscarriage.

 

Among Ten Thousand10. Among the Ten Thousand Things by Julia Pierpong

This isn’t usually the kind of novel that wanders up my alley but I have a huge soft spot for books about struggling artists. I’m also interested to see how the whole affair / marriage dynamic changes when the children are given a powerful role in that conflict.

So there it is! My top ten elusive releases of 2015. What’s on your new release TBR? Anything I’ve missed? Anything you’d recommend? Don’t be a stranger – link me to your list too!

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: the elusive releases of 2015

  1. Great list! I have to admit, I’ve not read any of them but I HAVE seen a few of the covers about 🙂 Especially that H Is For Hawk.
    I hope you enjoy them when you get your hands on them! 😀
    Amy x

    Like

Share your thoughts and opinions!

