Cover to Cover with Animal Farm

Despite its short length, there’s enough imagery and allegory in Animal Farm to keep even the stalwart reader pondering for days. This, of course, makes for some great covers. Feast your eyes!

Animal Farmv3.indd   Kindle edition - 50th Anniversary Edition   Penguin Edition

Unsurprisingly, there’s a lot of pig imagery – I especially like the idea of the pig made out of other animals. I’m also a fan of the plain paperback edition – a solid font decision. I feel that typography doesn’t often get to be the hero of a cover.

The foreign editions, as ever, bring a slightly different feel to the novella – from left to right and top to bottom, the Portuguese edition (which translates to “The Revolution of the Animals”), Spanish edition (“Rebellion in the Farm”), and Turkish edition (just a straight translation of “Animal Farm”).

Portuguese Edition   Spanish Edition   Turkish Edition

I quite like the Portuguese edition, although both it and the Spanish edition make the pig look almost noble. The Turkish edition does a better job of showcasing the pigs’ attitude, I think.

Finally, some great cover redesigns from graphic artists:

Eloise Narrigan's redesign Matt Cowen's redesing Sean Purdy's redesign

From left to right, top to bottom: covers from Eloise Narrigan, Matt Cowen, and Sean Purdy. But my favourite by far is this redesign influenced by Chinese Mao-era propaganda, from Jarret Michael Alan Courtney:

Jarrett Michael Alan Courtney's cover

Which cover is your favourite? I’d love to see your comments. Feel free to link to any great cover art that I’ve missed!

Until next time, remember that all covers are equal… but some are more equal than others.

Cover to Cover is a weekly project comparing and critiquing the various covers of popular novels, published every Wednesday. Find more posts in this series here.

The header image for this post is a cropped and brightened version of a photo from Kate Horton of a first edition Animal Farm hardcover. This image is available for use through Creative Commons.

2 thoughts on “Cover to Cover with Animal Farm

  1. This is a fantastic idea for a blog post series. I’ll take a closer look around your other posts, when I have a bit more time, and I’m definitely looking forward to the next one.

    The Turkish edition has to be my favourite, the lack of subtlety really speaks to me. It’s so in-your-face pink evilness that the thought of holding that particular book in my hands alone already makes me want to cackle. Alas, I don’t speak Turkish. Bummer!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts and opinions!

